Make Bets on the NRL Season Online at Wagering Sites!

Make Bets on the NRL Season Online

Ask most punters, and they will tell you that the best rugby betting in Australia happens during the National Rugby League or NRL seasons and finals series. Considering that the 16-team league represents the cream of the crop, it’s not surprising this is the case.

15 of the teams are Australian; the 16th hailing from New Zealand. Those currently involved are Wests Tigers, Sydney Roosters, St George Illawarra Dragons, South Sydney Rabbitohs, Penrith Panthers, Parramatta Eels, North Queensland Cowboys, Newcastle Knights, Melbourne Storm, Manly-Warringah Sea Eagles, Gold Coast Titans, Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks, Canberra Raiders, Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs, Brisbane Broncos, and New Zealand Warriors.

The NRL season typically runs from March to October, but the action actually begins a little earlier, with Pre-Season games played in February. It all ends with the spectacular Grand Final.

The season itself is divided into the Premiership Season known as the Telstra Premiership, the Representative Season, and the Finals Series. Making use of online bookmakers that accept Australian punters, you can bet on individual matches, as well as on the winners of the Grand Final.

NRL Seasons and Series

As is the case with most sporting seasons and tournaments, online NRL betting sees a significant increase in wagering at certain times. Understanding how the annual season is structured can help you when deciding what bets to place.

NRL Pre-Season

Most Australian NRL betting odds punters and sports fans know that the Pre-Season is really an opportunity for the league’s teams to get themselves sorted out before the Premiership Season begins.

However, it’s not all trial matches, as some clubs do play for trophies such as the Foundation Cup and the Charity Shield. Other Pre-Season NRL highlights include the All Stars Match, the Auckland Nines, and the World Club Series, so there is scope for some exciting betting.

NRL Premiership Season

Australian online betting definitely picks up pace during the Premiership Season. The season sees games played weekly, for 26 weeks.

Every weekend is about non-stop rugby. There are two games on Friday evenings, three on Saturday evenings, two on Sunday afternoons, and one on Monday evenings.

As if this wasn’t enough, things get even more exciting with Women in League, Rivalry, and Heritage rounds and special trophies such as the 1989 League Legends Cup, the Bandage Bear Cup, the Mal Reilly Cup, the Jack Gibson Cup, and the Ron Coote Cup.

Australian NRL Representative Season Bets

Australian NRL Representative Season

The Representative Season generally runs from mid-April to mid-July. NRL players are specially selected to play in events such as the Anzac Test, the New South Wales city vs Country Origin match, the Pacific Tests, and the State of Origin Series.

The Representative Season could also include the Prime Minister’s XIII Match, the World Cup tournament, various test matches between Australia and New Zealand, and the Four Nations Tournament.

When it comes to Representative games betting, not all of them attract the same attention from punters. Those that see the most money change hands would be the World Cup and the Four Nations Tournament.

NRL Finals Series

NRL online betting action intensifies at places like with the arrival of the Finals Series. This is when the eight teams that placed highest in the Premiership Season battle it out until only two remain.

The two remaining teams then slog it out in the Grand Final, which usually takes place in early October, and is one of Australia’s main sporting events. The Grand Final is a sight to behold; an opinion shared by many, as it is also one of the world’s best-attended club championship matches.

Recommended Articles